top of page
2023 06 03 Brigitte Designolle-22.jpg

Shubiao Quartet perpetuates the millennial heritage of mongolian throat singing (khöömii) and traditional instruments of Mongolia. In their universe, praises and epics become soft trances, songs of the heart or telluric rhythms. Powerful music that takes us to a mythical elsewhere. 

Detailed biography

The group was formed in 2023 in Grenoble with the meeting of Shubiao - freshly arrived from Mongolia with his bardic instruments and his throat full of epics - and Vincent Tournoud, singer with multiple voices who notably trained in throat singing in Mongolia for several years.

This initial duo was formed as an obvious choice, around the revisited traditional Mongolian repertoire.

With the first concert prospects in mind, they set out in search of experienced musicians who would provide the necessary rhythmic support and expand the arrangement possibilities.

Life granted this wish beyond their expectations by creating the meeting with another duo "Floyyy", recently formed by the percussionist Florent Diara (Djemdi, Big Ukulélé Syndicate...) and the guitarist and DJ Yoan Richard (Yoy , Hadra records). Their morning electro-acoustic trance of influences from all over the world was perfectly adapted to the Mongolian universe to magnify its spirit as much as its letter. The fusion of the two duos takes shape on stage with the Shubiao Quartet. Their music has deep roots in an age-old tradition while asserting itself as resolutely current.

The set is designed around amplified music but can accommodate a semi-acoustic setup, allowing them to perform in most concert venues.

Florent DIARA

Percussion, vocals, flute

Yoan RICHARD

Guitars, bouzouki, MAO

Vincent TOURNOUD

Vocals, tsuur, tovshuur, bass

SHUBIAO

singing,mörin khuur, tovshuur

Technical sheet & press kit

Diffusion

julien@ateaprod.fr | 06 87 15 47 43

bottom of page

top of page
2023 06 03 Brigitte Designolle-22.jpg

Shubiao Quartet perpétue au 21e siècle l’héritage millénaire du chant diphonique et des instruments traditionnels de Mongolie. Dans leur univers, les louanges et les épopées se font transes douces, chants du cœur ou rythmes telluriques. Une musique puissante qui nous emmène vers un ailleurs mythique.

Biographie détaillée

Le groupe s'est formé en 2023 à Grenoble avec la rencontre de Shubiao - fraîchement débarqué de Mongolie intérieure avec ses instruments de barde et sa gorge pleine d'épopées - et Vincent Tournoud, chanteur aux multiples voix qui s'est notamment formé à la diphonie en Mongolie pendant plusieurs années.

Ce duo initial s'est constitué comme une évidence, autour du répertoire traditionnel mongol revisité.

Avec les premières perspectives de concert, ils se sont mis en quête de musiciens expérimentés qui apporteraient un soutien rythmique nécessaire et permettrait d'étendre les possibilités d'arrangements.

La vie a exaucé ce souhait au-delà de leurs espérances en créant la rencontre avec un autre duo "Floyyy", formé récemment par le percussionniste Florent Diara (Djemdi, Big Ukulélé Syndicate...) et le guitariste et producteur Yoan Richard (Yoy project, Hadra records). Leur transe électro-acoustique matinée d'influences du monde entier s'est parfaitement accommodée de l'univers mongol pour en magnifier l'esprit autant que la lettre. La fusion des deux duos prend forme sur scène avec le Shubiao Quartet. Leur musique plonge ses racines profondes dans une tradition millénaire tout en s'affirmant comme résolument actuelle.

Le set est conçu autour de la musique amplifiée mais peut s'accommoder d'une configuration semi-acoustique, leur permettant de se produire dans la plupart des lieux de concert.

Florent DIARA

Percussions, chant, flûte

Yoan RICHARD

Guitares, bouzouki, MAO

Vincent TOURNOUD

Chant, tsuur, guitare basse

SHUBIAO

Chant, mörin khuur, tovshuur

Diffusion

vincent(.)tournoud(@)gmail(.)com

bottom of page